- The Account section contains your basic data. This is the information you use to log in to CommSy. You can manage your personal data, newsletter, and additional functions here or delete your CommSy account. To access your account, click your profile picture on the top right of the CommSy bar and select “Account” (Fig. 1).
- The workspace profile section lets you provide your address and contact information for each workspace you have joined as a member. To access the settings of your workspace profile, go to the corresponding workspace. In the section bar on the left-hand side of the screen, you will now find the field “Workspace profile” (Fig.3). In the workspace profile area, you can individually provide address and contact information about yourself for each subscribed workspace.
|Note: If you use your UHH user ID (STiNE-ID) when logging in, you cannot change your display name and e-mail address, as these are transferred from the RRZ user ID database.|
In the Account section, you can view your name and email address. If you use multiple accounts to access CommSy, you can combine them here (“Combine accounts,” Fig. 2). You can also activate and deactivate the “auto save” function and specify how often you would like to receive the newsletter. This page also contains a button labeled “Delete account.” It allows you to cancel your membership on AGORA.
|Note: If you use your UHH user ID when logging in, you cannot change your display name and e-mail address, as these are transferred from the RRZ user ID database.|
If you use multiple accounts to access CommSy, you can combine them into a single account here. Any rooms that you have joined with your secondary account will be transferred to your main account. (Your main account is the one you are currently logged in to.)
To do this, enter the login data of your secondary account (the one you are not currently using) and click “Save.”
Use the “Newsletter” section to choose whether you wish to receive the CommSy newsletter and, if so, how frequently (weekly/daily). By default, this option is set to “No newsletter.” The newsletter is sent to the email address provided in your account setting (see above).
The CommSy newsletter contains information about the recent activity in your rooms—both ones you have created yourself and ones you have joined as a member. This includes newly added materials, new discussions, and new room members. All news is easily accessible through direct links in your personal newsletter.
At this point you can view and download your personal data stored by AGORA-Commsy as a PDF file. The function “View personal data” allows you to download and view your personal details stored on AGORA as a PDF. Personal data is on the one hand account-related information such as name and e-mail address and on the other hand your workspace-specific information about yourself in the “People” section. You can also use this function if you want to quickly get an overview of all the shared, project and group workspaces you have subscribed to or if you want to compare the workspace-specific data you have stored. Instructions on how to retrieve your personal data can be found on our FAQ page.
Privacy: Here you can view and download your personal data stored by AGORA-Commsy as a PDF file.
Additional functions: You can edit the language settings for your dashboard in the additional functions. You also have the option of activating your portfolio here.
Lock account: Choose “Lock account” to deactivate your CommSy account. You will no longer be able to enter CommSy, but your contributions will remain in place. If you want to delete any specific posts before leaving, please do so before you lock your account. Your membership can be unlocked again upon request.
Delete account: If you select “Delete account,” your personal data and your username will be deleted from the CommSy portal. You will no longer be able to enter CommSy. Your contributions will be anonymized.
Attention: This process is irreversible!
|Note: In addition, your AGORA account will be locked or deleted after a long period of inactivity. This is an automatic process designed to limit server load and protect your data. In both cases, you will be informed 30 days in advance by a corresponding system mail. You can find more information about this on our FAQ page.|
After entering a workspace, you can change information about yourself and your contact data in the “workspace profile” section in the section bar (Fig.1). Among other things, you can post a profile picture, enter your address or contact information for messenger services, and write a text. Other CommSy users can thus learn more about you and contact you. You can also end your room membership if you want to leave the workspace you are currently using–in this case, the termination of the workspace membership always refers to the workspace from which you entered your workspace profile.
Workspace profile settings
General: Here you can change your profile image.
Address: If you would like you can add your address here.
Contact: This function allows you to customize your email address, phone number and more for the specific workspace.
|Note: You can only change your e-mail address here if you are logged in with an AGORA(CommSy) account. If you are logged in with your UHH user ID (STiNE-ID), you must contact the RRZ user account management and ask there to change your primary e-mail address.|
Notifications: Here you set the email notifications for your project room.
- Choose “Lock workspace membership” to end your access to the workspace. You will no longer be able to enter the workspace, but your contributions will remain in place. If you want to delete any specific posts before leaving, please do so before you lock your membership. Your membership can be unlocked again upon request.
- If you select “Delete workspace membership”, your personal data and your username will be deleted from the current workspace. You will no longer be able to enter the workspace. Your contributions will be anonymized. Please note: This process is irreversible!
The dashboard is a very convenient, new function in CommSy10. It gives you a personalized overview of your activity in CommSy. It shows you the latest entries in your workspaces and a calendar overview of all dates from all workspaces you have joined as a member. To access the dashboard, click the icon to the left of your profile image in the CommSy bar on top of the screen (Fig. 5).
The “My Views” function gives you the possibility to get a better overview of the entries in your AGORA workspace. You can save different views and thus find what you are looking for faster.
Entries can be filtered by the following characteristics:
- Words in title / description
- Creation period (Created from/to)
- Date modified (Last modified from/to)
- Category of entries (e.g. material, tasks)
- Read status
Set up your own view: To create a view for the first time, click “Create” in the “My Views” box on your dashboard. You will first be taken to a search results page that lists all your available entries on this CommSy portal.
On the right side you will find on the one hand the “My Views” field and the “Restrict Results” field.
First, under “Restrict Results”, select the filters that you want to call repeatedly in the future. Once you are satisfied with your filter selection, enter a title in the “My Views” box and click “Save”.
This view can now be selected from a drop-down menu on your dashboard in the “My Views” box. Once you select one of your pre-built views, you will be redirected to a search results page.
|Tip: Use this function according to your needs – for example, to display only entries from the current semester.|
Notes on some filter options:
“Must appear in title” or “Must appear in description”: First enter the desired search term in the bar at the very top. After the intermediate result is loaded, select one of the two options.
“Read status”: The status new means that either the entire entry has been newly created or contributions, answers, work steps or comments have been added. The status changed, on the other hand, means that the description of an entry (or – depending on the rubric – a post, a reply, a work step, a note) itself has been edited. Examples include correcting typos, adding an image to a field that already contained text or other images, or changing the title.
|Note: If views are already configured, it is essential to select “New View” in the View drop-down menu to create a new view, otherwise the previously used view will be overwritten.|