Group rooms

In the “Groups” rubric, members of a project room can form subgroups. This is useful for tutorials, working groups, and individual topics. Each group can create their own, private group room. It will be part of the project room and have the same functions.

  Fig. 1: “Groups” rubric

1. Show groups

In a newly created project room, the “Groups” rubric might not be activated automatically. If you are a room moderator, you can change this setting. Navigate to the room settings (Fig. 2). Under “General settings” (Fig. 3), click the drop-down menu next to “Groups” and select “Show.”

Fig. 2: Opening the settings  Fig. 3: Expanding the “Groups” drop-down menu under “General settings”

2. Creating a new group

If you want to create a new group, navigate to the “Groups” rubric. Select the option “New entry” in the drop-down menu labeled “Choose action.” Fig. 4: Creating a new group You can give the group a name (“[Insert title]”). After saving the name, you can add a more detailed description. On this page, you can also set the access rights and allocate existing entries (such as related materials) from your CommSy project room to the group. 

Fig. 5: Name, description, and access rights

3. Activating a group room

To give your new group its own group room, you need to activate it. Navigate to “Edit group room,” click the edit symbol and check “Activate group room.”

Fig. 6: Activating a group room Once you have activated the group room, you can enter and use it immediately.

Fig. 6: Activating a group room Fig. 7: Entering a group room Group rooms essentially work like any other CommSy room, but you can restrict access so only selected members of the primary CommSy project room can enter them.  Fig. 8: A newly created group room ready for use

 

Access to the group room

By default, a new group room is open to all members of the project room to which it belongs. To restrict access, open the group room settings. Under “Basic settings,” open the drop-down menu labeled “Access check” and select one of the following options.

  • If you do not  wish to restrict access to the room, select “Deactivate.” This opens the group room to all members of the primary project room.
  • If you select “Always,” you will receive an email whenever a user requests access. You can manually approve or reject their request.
  • If you select “Code,” you need to enter an access code into the text field that appears. You can choose any code you like. In this case, users will be asked to enter the code before they can access the group room.

Fig. 9: Restricting access to the group room